Passion for Beer

8 10 2010

“Ah, beer. The cause of and solution to all of life’s problems.” – Homer Simpson

I moved to San Diego right after college and needed to find a way to make a few bucks while I searched for a career.  With a bit of table-waiting experience under my belt, I was able to land a job at the Karl Strauss Brewing Company in downtown.  Talk about your great times! I made a ton of friends (many of the life-long variety), earned enough money to cover the rent while I searched for a regular job type job, and got deep discounts on some fantastic beer.

Also during that time, I had the extreme honor and pleasure of participating in a beer-tasting with the man himself, Mr. Karl Strauss.  Always dressed in suit and tie, “Uncle Karl” personally led the tasting, describing the brewing process and unique qualities of each of the fine ales and lagers we sampled.  The more he drank the thicker his German accent grew, and by the time we were done I thought I would need a translator.

Although impressed by his ability to put ‘em down, I was primarily enamored by the passion he had for his craft.  Mr. Strauss was literally born on the premises of his father’s brewery.  He was the VP of Production for Pabst and remained with the company for 44 years.  This was not his job, it was his love.  He is not just the name behind the brewery, he is the inspiration.   Beer was in his blood – his profession was his life.

“My life’s work has been brewing and if I had to do it over again, I would pursue the same path, which is to say I have no regrets.” Karl M. Strauss, 1912-2006

Okay, we don’t all get to work at a brewery and talk about beer all day, but there is something you can find to be passionate about at your job.  I will always remember to bring passion to work with me every morning.  Thank you Uncle Karl for the inspiration.  And cheers!  I’ll raise one to you this Oktoberfest.


Actions

Information

4 responses

8 10 2010
Vokab Kompany (Rob)

Bradical, Nice! I like the part where we get to drink beer. P.S. Your model portfolio is performing nicely.

Speaking of Strauss, his beer will be a sponsor at the annual Ocean Beach Oktoberfest this Saturday 10/9. We’re also lucky enough to play it. We take stage at 7:15. Come get merry
http://oboktoberfest.com/

Rob

9 10 2010
Adam

Lovin the hat Brad.. Wasn’t he the head brewer for Schlitz ??

9 10 2010
Brad White

Definitely Pabst. Hey Adam, you know more about beer than most people – what’s your favorite beer?

13 10 2010
Adam

today it would be Switchback, a local vermont Brew some dude started out of his garage…similar to the ESB @ Strauss but not as strong.

Leave a Reply

