Something I Gotta Say

16 12 2010

A few weeks ago I wrote about making ourselves uncomfortable to drive forward.  It was an attempt to shed light on my thought process for the big decision I recently made.  Since then I have been asked a lot of questions by the keen observers and inquiring minds.  So that the record is clear, I will discuss the subject plainly and with transparency.

For the past 13 years I have been working as a Sales Rep, then Sales Manager, then VP of Sales for AddVenture Products, an apparel marketing agency specializing in the CompressT and other innovative promotional products.  During that time I learned more about business than I could imagine, achieved success, and grew as a professional.  I built strong, lasting relationships.  I tried weird things, I failed, I learned, I tried again.  We produced t-shirts for everything you can imagine – some that I was particularly fond of, like The Hangover Movie, Snoop Dogg, The Simpsons, NASCAR, The Office, Family Guy, Batman, Alice In Chains, True Blood, etc, etc, etc.

In the past year I started writing this blog.  It has helped me establish myself as somewhat of an expert in my industry.  I won some awards, and I’ve been asked to participate in committees, magazines, and webinars.  I certainly don’t know everything – far from it, but there are some things I know well, and I have been sought out in that regard.  The attention has made me feel a bit guilty, humbled, and embarrassed – I have also felt empowered and proud.  My network has grown and I have increased my exposure within the industry where I earn a living.

Along with this new recognition came job offers – really interesting ones too.  Some were tough to ignore, even tougher to turn down, and one in particular was impossible to overlook.  Along with that great opportunity comes a great disturbance to my life and my family.  In these situations you want to investigate and be sure – “look before you leap,” right?  Sometimes damnit, you just gotta leap!  So that’s what I did.

I have joined Boundless Network as the VP of Sales.  My family and I are moving to Austin, Texas.  To anyone reading this that has no knowledge of the promotional products industry, this means very little – I’m just a guy changing jobs, moving to a new town, and taking way too long to explain.  But to my colleagues, clients, family and friends, it is kind of a big deal.

Am I nervous?  Scared?  Doubting myself?  Questioning whether or not I will suck???  Sure.  Am I excited?  More excited than I can measure.  Am I sad to leave my town, friends, and a company I genuinely love?  Of course.  But life is change, and no reward comes without risk.

I will continue writing the blog.  I am going to let it evolve naturally, mirroring my own path.  I love – seriously – love the ride I’ve been on.  Now it’s time for a change in direction.  Am I going to make mistakes as I progress?  Yep.  Am I going to look back?  No way.

There is a large group of people that have touched my life.

  • I am grateful for the kindness and support I have been shown these past years. 
  • I appreciate the knowledge and honesty I have received from my valued mentors.
  • I am honored by the people that have chosen to learn from me.
  • I greatly respect the people that were unafraid to tell me when I was wrong.

And now I move forward, as do you.  Happy New Year everybody.  May we all kick some serious butt next year.  Thanks for listening, thanks for participating.  This is only the beginning…


Actions

Information

13 responses

16 12 2010
Tonia Allen Gould

Congrats, Brad. And, wishing you and your family the best of luck in your endeavors. Now, rock it!

16 12 2010
Nicole French

Good Luck Brad with your new adventure!

16 12 2010
Robbie

Gonna miss you bud.

16 12 2010
bluebomberracing

You sure helped me out a lot making my own blog. Definitely going to miss two of my biggest fans going to the races. Good luck!

16 12 2010
Adam

Congrats B, you deserve it all..your a good man, and have made the most of every opportunity. We are proud my man !

17 12 2010
Tim Fruehe

Good luck Brad, I really do wish you well. You picked a great company and a great city!

18 12 2010
shelby

Nice work big guy. Happy for you & the fam:)

30 12 2010
roni

Brad – I am so very proud of you, but you already know that! I look forward to sharing ideas and continuing to learn from each other. You have pushed me in areas that are totally uncomfortable and yet…now feel like home. I wish you and your family all the best in the coming years. Please remember – you can count me in as a life long fan!

Best,
roni

3 01 2011
Brad White

Thank you everyone so much for the support. What a crazy couple of weeks!
Roni – none of this happens without your constant inspiration. I am forever grateful.
And now that it’s started, now that I’ve passed a few big scary hurdles, I feel much better, more confident. Dear everyone, if a big dummy like me can do this, then so can you.

8 01 2011
Angie

Hi Brad… A belated congratulations on all your success in family and business. Congratulations on having the courage to make the difficult decision to move. Austin will be good to you, I’m sure of it!

10 01 2011
Brad White

Thanks Angie. So far, Austin has been great to me! I love your blog by the way.

10 02 2011
Tyrone Williams

Brad,

Congrats on the move upward. You and I were a great team in the past and as we look forward into the future, let’s continue to grow in our business relationship and personal friendship.

Great Job, my friend!!

10 02 2011
Brad White

Thanks Ty. You are someone I have learned a lot from. Your relationship focus and persistence are admirable.
Look forward to seeing you soon!

Leave a Reply

